Well, here I am …

6 04 2007

Welcome to teaheepeehee!  So what is this place, anyway, and what am I doing here?

This is a place where I can put my thoughts and reflections on virtual paper in the hopes that I might cause other people to think. 🙂  Thinking people is something we seem to be in short supply of these days, so anything to get the grey matter working, I believe, can only be a good thing … even if it’s yet another blog.

The title of this blog (the Reverend boy) may lead you to assume that most of what I write will be among the religious or spiritual vein.  You assume correctly.   However, I do not wish to make this much of a personal spiritual journal, per se, but I do intend to throw in my two cents (or three or four) to discussions about the Anglican world, the Episcopal Church, and anything else that might happen to strike my fancy.

That’s all well and good, you say, but who are you, exactly?

I’ll spare you the boring details such as my name, age and location.  For the most part, I’ll remain anonymous but I can tell you a few things …

I am a Christian.  …  In other words, I believe that Jesus of Nazareth is the Son of God and Saviour of the world.  For more information about this guy, check out either the Apostle’s or Nicene Creed … other good sources are by some guys named Matthew Mark Luke and John. 

I am an Episcopalian …  I am a member of the US branch of the Anglican Communion.  Despite what you might read in the papers, we don’t spend all of our time fighting among each other (unless it’s about whether to serve doughnuts or muffins during coffee hour).  In fact, we actually enjoy having a good time.  I happen to firmly believe that if heaven’s a banquet, then Episcopalians will be in charge of the cocktail hour so everyone can loosen up and enjoy themselves.

I am an Evangelical …  No, the two terms are not contradictory.  Neither does it place me in the category of the religious right.  I call myself an Evangelical because I want to share the Good News of Jesus Christ with a broken and hurting world .. not the bad news of religion, which we have way too much of anyway. 

I am a gay man …  yes, Virginia, there are homosexual evangelical Episcopalians (though i admittedly don’t know any others).  But there you have it. 

So, that’s me.

As the tagline says, I am not a clergyman … yet.   I am an aspirant for Holy Orders in my parish, however, and the vestry will be voting on my suitability in the near future.  I chose the handle “Reverend boy” as it is sort of a nickname I acquired, as one doesn’t come across an openly gay man desiring to be a priest in the Episcopal Church every day.   I will say, however, that I do feel as if a calling to ministry is something that is a part of who I am, a part of my identity.

Why I think this blog might … just might … be important

To be point blank, I believe my voice is one that needs to be heard.  If you pay any attention to the news, you might have stumbled across the fact that the Episcopal Church and the larger Anglican Communion is in the throws of what I can only call “A Big Mess.”  Part of the problem, I think, is that we have some very loud voices coming from what I call the far right (they call themselves re-asserters) and the far left (they have been given the name re-appraisers).  These voices are dominating the church and we need to hear more from the middle.

One of the issues we are facing is what to do about all the gay people that are in the pews, in the pulpit and even one in a mitre up in New Hampshire. These people have decided that they are going to (horror of horrors) be honest about who they are.  In fact, they believe this honesty and integrity is more pleasing to God than the alternative.  I am sure that most gay people who happen to go to church simply wish to be accepted for who they are and perhaps participate in the occasional program or ministry a parish might have to offer. 

The next few entries will cover a few more things, such as my own views on gay marriage, same-sex unions or some variation thereof, as well as my beef with those loud voices i mentioned earlier.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

