Happy Birthday to Me

13 06 2007

Updated post-party:

The evening was awesome!  One of my friends and I got together for cocktails before the rendez-vous time (apple martini’s!  YUM!!!) and  then went over to the restaurant where I was supposed to be.  I was surrounded by my closest friends.  There was my Personal Atheist, of course, his boyfriend, and two friends whom i refer to affectionately as “the beta twins.”  (they’re not twins, but they’re close enough that they could be brothers)  SIR called in the middle of it all to send his personal well-wishes, so that was great to have him there in some way even if he could not be there in person.  He arranged the whole thing and picked up the tab for everyone. 

At the end the waitstaff brought out all these balloons with a big slice of ricotta cheesecake and my friends gave me their gift, which was a gift certificate to a leather shop in town.  They also gave a me a cool card which had a picture of a guy in a sling.

Definitely one of the best birthday’s ever.  So now the first third of my life is over and has ended on a very good note.  The future for the second third looks equally bright and I think I’m really going to start coming into my own, with God’s help and the Lord willing.

My

Tomorrow, June 14th,  is my birthday. I shall be 33 years old. 

I’ll most likely be otherwise engaged for a few days, so there won’t be much reporting going on, but I will probably have something to say about the Executive Council report when it comes out.  I also have been meaning to talk about our Presiding Bishop’s recent appearance on Bill Moyers.

As it turns out, SIR is still away and it looks like he won’t be able to make it for the day, but he promised we would celebrate next time we saw each other.  Meanwhile, I have been informed that SIR has gotten in touch with some friends of mine, including my Personal Atheist, and is apparently cooking up something from afar.

All I know is that I need to be at a certain restuarant at a certain time tomorrow evening. 

I have to say, I’m one very lucky boy!  No one has ever gone out of their way with this much trouble for me before.  From what little I know, the evening promises to be great and I’ll be surrounded by friends, so needless to say I’m really looking forward to it!!!!

Actions

Information

7 responses

14 06 2007
Jarred

Happy birthday to you!

I hope you have a great celebration.

14 06 2007
Reverend boy

Thanks! Much appreciated 🙂

15 06 2007
*Christopher

Happy b-day.

15 06 2007
notquitedeadpoet

Happy belated birthday and many happy returns.

15 06 2007
scott

Hope your B-day was very happy & the mysterious planned event extremely satisfying!!!

18 06 2007
wordofmike

If I’d remembered it was your birthday, I would have made sure you got your birthday smacks when I saw you on Sunday!

Hope you had a great weekend. It was nice to meet you!

20 06 2007
Eileen

Happy Belated Birthday Rev Boy!

Leave a Reply

