Chain emails from Evangelicals

6 06 2008

You know what they are. They’re usually full of angels, prayers and “Jesus loves you’s.”

My father, of all people, sends them to me. Usually I don’t respond to them at all, just politely open it and move on. Today in the mail bag I received something that I could just not ignore. You may have seen it before.

Allah or the Lord Jesus Christ?

This is interesting. The Muslim religion is the fastest growing religion per capita in the United States , especially in the minority races!!!

Allah or the Lord Jesus Christ? ….. By Rick Mathes

Last month I attended my annual training session that’s required for

maintaining my state prison security clearance. During the training

session there was a presentation by three speakers representing the

Roman Catholic, Protestant and Muslim faiths, who explained each of their beliefs.

I was particularly interested in what the Islamic Imam had to say.

The Imam gave a great presentation of the basics of Islam, complete with a video. After the presentations, time was provided for Questions and Answers.

When it was my turn, I directed my question to the Imam and asked: ‘Please, correct me if I’m wrong, but I understand that most Imams and Clerics of Islam have declared a holy jihad [holy war] against the infidels of the world and, that by killing an infidel, (which is a command to all Muslims) they are assured of a place in heaven. If that’s the case, can you give me the definition of an infidel?’

There was no disagreement with my statements and, Without hesitation, he replied, ‘non-believers! ‘

I responded, ‘So, let me make sure I have this straight. All followers

Of Allah have been commanded to kill everyone who is not of your faith so they can have a place in heaven. Is that correct?’

The expression on his face changed from one of authority and command to that of ‘a little boy who had just been caught with his hand in the cookie jar.’

He sheepishly replied, ‘Yes.’

I then stated, ‘Well, sir, I have a real problem trying to imagine Pope

Benedict commanding all Catholics to kill those of your faith or Dr.

Stanley ordering all Protestants to do the same in order to guarantee

them a place in heaven!’

The Imam was speechless!

I continued, ‘I also have problem with being your ‘friend’ when you and your brother clerics are e telling your followers to kill me! Let me ask you a question. Would you rather have your Allah, who tells you to kill me in order for you to go to heaven, or my Jesus who tells me to love you because I am going to heaven and He wants you to be there with me?’

You could have heard a pin drop as the Imam hung his head in shame.

Needless to say, the organizers and/or promoters of the

‘Diversification¢ training seminar were not happy with Rick’s way of

dealing with the Islamic Imam and exposing the truth about the Muslims’ beliefs.

In twenty years there will be enough Muslim voters in the U.S. to elect the President! I think everyone in the U.S.should be required to read this, but with the liberal justice system, liberal media and the ACLU, there is no way this will be widely publicized.

This is a true story and the author, Rick Mathes, is a Well-known leader in prison ministry. The man who walks with God always gets to his destination.

If you have a pulse you have a purpose.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. Now you can Either delete it or pass it on.

No wishes, or promises or threats – just freedom of choice.

Now, this was a bit over too over the top for me. I forwarded it to my Personal Atheist, who responded with a resounding “UGH.” He pointed me towards this piece at snopes.com.

I did a “reply to all” and responded to my father, everyone he sent it to and made sure I sent it to the person I who sent it to my dad. I share it with you below.

Dear Dad,
Thank you for sending this along.
Just so you know, this supposedly took place in May 2003. The people who coordinated this effort could not find an imam to speak, so they got an lay person who happened to be an inmate from the prison. The inmate did a good job in presenting his beliefs though there were a few questions that were beyond his ability to answer.
If you follow the link below, you will find the story behind the story and what your friend passed along doesn’t match. Whether your friend knows it or not, this kind of email breeds fear and hate. There is way too much of it in this world already.
Jesus caused a commotion everywhere he went, but he never spread fear or hate. Unfortunately, spreading fear and hate is something that many of us who claim to be his followers, many of us Christians have become very good at.
Here is the link. Please read it, and feel free to share it with anyone.
My father’s response back to me: “thank you for telling the truth.”
Actions

Information

6 responses

6 06 2008
FranIAm

Wow. I dislike getting this kind of stuff too.

This is a real topic of interest to me for many reasons. One reason is that I do feel very called to build all kinds of bridges, which might be apparent from my blog. In all seriousness, I do think that is a true mission for me and it is something I do IRL as well.
(As if this is not real?!?!!)

I have had the good fortune to have some really good Muslim friends and have spent time in Arab East Jerusalem and in Jordan. I recently wrote about an extraordinary reconciliation experience I had in Jordan.

As you know, I am Catholic, but my father was a Jew and I am very in touch with my own inner Jew and being sort of both is who I am. (Culturally if not spiritually.)

Recently when I took that week of classes offered by the diocese, I took a 2 hour overview of Islam. It was astounding that even in our very liberal diocese, one saw all kinds of reactivity.

The poor teacher – he was pretty beaten down. There were those who wanted to fight with him and then, this really got me – the fear. And of course, almost no one in the room had any direct experience of Islam other than 9/11 and what they see in the MSM.

The majority of these folks were social action bleeding heart liberal leftist Catholics. The majority of them in that room were either angry, afraid or both. Is no one curious anymore?

Back to the evangelical anti-Islam messages. That crew is so apt to pull out the old “WWJD” thing. My pastor always says we should look at “WJAD” or what Jesus Already Did.

He approached in openness, asked questions, told stories, offered peace and healing to those who would accept.

Do all these anti Muslim folks know that after the Prophet Mohammed (MPBUH) that Jesus is the next greatest prophet in Islam? And that no woman gets the mentions in the Koran that Mary, the mother of Jesus does?

Deep sigh. Sorry I spent so much time on my soapbox here. Can you tell that this matters to me?

6 06 2008
the Reverend boy

my dear Fran you are a prophet. i mark your post as an infallible statement with the corkscrew of anglican infallibility

6 06 2008
Robert Thomas

Good work Rev. Boy. This has been floating around all too often. I usually always check out things like this on snopes too.

7 06 2008
FranIAm

I came back to see if I actually (pardon the catholicity!)actually pontificated like that.

I did. (eyes cast downward…. deep sigh)

And you are kind enough to indulge me.

You sir are indeed a good Christian!

Now where is that corkscrew? I need a glass of wine!

Thank you.

7 06 2008
Leo

I never pass these on. As you say, you never really know where they come from.
I’m glad you posted that with all the links and the alternative ending.

My Muslim friends would be mortified at the misrepresentation and so should we be.

7 06 2008
Doorman-Priest

I get these occasionally and I sometimes wonder what their provenance is and I don’t forward them either. This was particularly insidious. You have to wonder how much damage has been done.

If it’s in print, some people will believe it.

Leave a Reply

