Southern Gospel redux!

1 09 2008

The one thing I really miss about the Baptist tradition in which I was raised is the music ….. Here’s some samples …I dare say this is music to process to!

We have the Gold City Quartet singing “John Saw”

And then we have none other than the Happy Goodman’s singing “The Sweetest Song I Know.”  Please pay homage to Vestal Goodman with her fabulous bee-hive hairdo and her Hanky of Anointing, which puts the Corkscrew of Infallibility to shame any day!

Lyrics are below the fold if anyone is interested …..

John Saw

Refrain:

John saw jasper walls … Oh my! Oh my! What a vision!

John told of shining streets of gold that all God’s saints shall forever stroll

(I’ve wondered) Time and again … how could it have been … to gaze upon that heavenly throne

But I’ll wonder no more … when I step on that shore … to walk upon that golden ground that John saw

Verse

John saw a land (I know I’ll share) He saw a river (rolling there)

John tell me more (John tell me more) John tell it all!

John saw a throne (so bright and fair) He saw the gates (with beauty rare)

Some day I want to walk the golden ground that John Saw

Refrain

Verse

John heard a voice (from heaven say) I’ll wash all tears (all tears away!)

John tell me more (John tell me more) John tell it all!

He said no death (shall enter there), no grief or pain (for us to bear)

Some day I want to talk the golden ground that John Saw

Verse

Just in the midst (of paradise) John saw a tree (a tree of Life)

John tell me more (John tell me more) John tell it all!

The sun and moon (no longer shine) the Lamb of God (shall be the light)

Some day I want to walk the golden ground that John Saw

Refrain and Repeat

The Sweetest Song I Know

Verse

I’ve heard them sing he paid the price and Jesus bore it all

I’ve heard them sing I’m coming home and hear the Master’s call

I’ve heard them sing the Modern Songs and songs of long ago

But Amazing Grace (Amazing Grace How Sweet the Sound) is the sweetest song I know

Refrain

Amazing Grace (Amazing Grace How Sweet the Sound)

How Sweet (Oh how sweet) the sound (is the Sound)

No sweeter song (Sweeter Song, Sweeter Song) can e’re be found (In this life, can be found)

I’ve heard a fountain filled with blood (I’ve heard a fountain filled with blood that washes white as snow)

But Amazing Grace (Amazing Grace How Sweet the Sound) is the sweetest song I know

Verse

It was the song my mother sang in a sweet and humble voice

Like music from the world above, it makes my soul rejoice

With soothing words and melodies like the rippling waters flow

But Amazing Grace How Sweet the Sound is the sweetest song I know

Refrain x2
Repeat Verse 2, Repeat Refrain x2

Enjoy!

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 09 2008
Anthony

Hate the theology – love the harmonies and energy.

2 09 2008
Reverend boy

The theology can be a bit disconcerting … I try not to dwell on it too much … I consider this a guilty pleasure because of the harmonies and the energy.

2 09 2008
Doorman-Priest

Bring back Choral Evensong!

2 09 2008
FranIAm

Guilty pleasure is right.

And that hair……. I know many a tranny who would die for that hair!

Loved this!!!

One of my best liturgical experiences was in 199???? 3? 4? 5? 6? 7? I am such a doddering old woman these days… Anyway I attended mass at St. Charles Borromeo in Harlem. Black Gospel church meets Catholic liturgy.

Oh the music- it was amazing.

3 09 2008
Anthony

Ok, I admit it, I even bought Happy Goodman recordings to clean my apt haha, true..yeah, love the bun!

Leave a Reply

