Enough already!

10 09 2008

I repent. I’ve let secular politics get in the way of what this blog is about.

For many reasons, I have become caught up in the election obsession that has taken over the United States.  This is, in the words of Martha Stewart, A Good Thing, overall because we all know how IMPORTANT this election is, and will be one of the most pivotal in not THE most pivotal in our lifetime.

I do have to say, though, that I was very proud of what Senator Obama said this morning and I almost clapped myself when I heard him say this …

Quoting the NYTimes

Enough!” Mr. Obama said, interrupting a speech on education to address the latest controversy in the heated presidential campaign. “I don’t care what they say about me, but I love this country too much to let them take over another election with lies and phony outrage and swift boat politics. Enough is enough!”

You may watch the whole thing below:

He’s right.  Enough is enough.  This has become too much about personality and popularity instead of about real substantive issues.

How does this pertain to the Reverend boy and his blog?  This blog is not about political commentary or contributing to the back and forth between the candidates.  I have not really written too much on spiritual matters and Lord knows when the last time I put up a lectionary reflection was!

Enough.  Time to refocus.   I am fasting from posting about the election on this blog.  Going forward, my sole witness to that will be the widget off to the right which shows the current projected electoral vote count.  I may comment elsewhere and comments here, of course, are always welcome, but for myself, I really have nothing more to post.  I’ll leave that to sages like Fran, That Kaeton Woman,  and the Slacktivist, who speak about these things much more eloquently than I ever could.

Time to refocus.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 09 2008
Doorman-Priest

Perhaps there should be a moritorium on election reporting for the last six weeks before an election!

11 09 2008
Reverend boy

Or at least until the debates in a couple of weeks!!!! Or at the very least people start talking about issues and not cults of personality. I wonder if it’s the same in the UK.

Leave a Reply

