People of Hope

15 09 2008

As Christians, we are if nothing else, supposed to be people of hope and love.  There’s a lot of reasons to be anxious in the US today.  My walk to work takes me past the Lehman Brothers’ building and sure enough, there were cameras all over the place.  Someone having a twisted sense of humour actually placed a “For Sale” sign on it!  The financial markets are reeling from everything that is going on …. Lehman, Merril Lynch, AIG, Fannie / Freddie Mac … I am not equipped to comment about these things, but suffice it to say there is a palpable sense of uncertainty in the city that I haven’t seen since 2001.  Of course, it hits a little closer to home to me because I work in the financial industry.  Overshadowing all of this is, of course, something else.  I draw your attention to the side bar … you know what I’m talking about.

As a person of hope, we are called to proclaim the Good News in all things.  So here’s my little bit of Good News to share with everyone.

1)  Today is Holy Cross Day.  The Cross is our reminder, that no matter what happens, God’s got it covered through Jesus.

Almighty God, whose Son our Saviour Jesus Christ was lifted high upon the cross that he might draw the whole world to himself:  Mercifully grant that we, who glory in the mystery of our redemption, may have grace to take up our cross and follow him; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, in glory everlasting. Amen. (BCP, The Episcopal Church)

O God, who by the passion of your blessed Son made an instrument of shameful death to be for us the means of life and peace:  Grant us so to glory in the cross of Christ, that we may gladly suffer shame and loss for the sake of your Son our Saviour Jesus Christ, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever.  Amen. (Church of England)

2)  The Kingdom of God continues to break through into the world.  The Miami Herald has a story about how two men are allowed to adopt a teenage boy they have been raising since 2001.  A Monroe Circuit Court judge in Key West (who happens to know one of my friends down there) made the ruling that Florida’s 31-year-old gay adoption ban ”unconstitutional.”  The story can be found here

3)  The next two for me are examples of good things in my life … The investment bank where I work is probably one of the best and safest places to be at the moment in this financial climate.  It’s going to be a bumpy ride, but we’re gonna be OK.

4)  Last but not least … SIR is coming home today !!!! He’s had a successful, but bumpy season up on Cape Cod this year and it has prevented us from visiting each other much.  Last time we saw each other was late July!

Isn’t he handsome?

Even with all the anxiety in the world .. we can still be people of hope.  What Good News do you have to proclaim today?

Actions

Information

10 responses

15 09 2008
KJ

Agreed, Rev Boy. Our hope is not in markets, or even in who is politically “in” or “out.”

Glad to hear SIR is on his way home. Blessings!

15 09 2008
Reverend boy

Thanks, KJ! Good to hear from you, it’s been a while.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that until that ruling, it was illegal for gay / lesbian couples to adopt. That law was ruled unconstitutional. I shall update the post …

16 09 2008
RFSJ

RB –

You’re so right – in the Cross god has it covered. Far better than my own thoughts for the day.

And welcome back to your guy!

RFSJ

17 09 2008
Doorman-Priest

SIR scrubs up well. When do we see a pic of you together?

17 09 2008
Reverend boy

DP, those pics are generally “not fit for blogging” but I’ll see if i can rustle something up. Plus, I usually take HORRIBLE pictures, so I’m usually averse to posting them …

17 09 2008
FranIam

I love this post. It is past the feast of course, but I am behind in blogging right now.

While hope is alive in my heart, I must admit to having a very bad time right now. Thus I am glad that I read this… it does redirect my attention to hope.

That indeed is my proclamation of hope – found here in our online community today.

BTW, that SIR… nice, very nice.

17 09 2008
Fran

OK, I have done something that is a real metaphor for hope in my life… After posting this comment I took my unemployed arse outside and planted over 100 bulbs in my garden.

Very Christian imagery… What goes down in the hole, will freeze over and winter and then in the spring…. purple, yellow. red, amazing.

17 09 2008
Reverend boy

sound great Fran! Please remember to take pictures once they’ve all come busting out all over

18 09 2008
Jeffrey

I found my way over here from Mad Priest’s blog; SIR is indeed handsome, and from the pictures at the other site, so are you–*very*!

Through Jesus God does have everything covered, and hopeful signs do break out if we look for them, such as the same gender couple’s being able to adopt their son; such happy news does give us hope.

21 09 2008
Grandmère Mimi

RB, SIR is handsome. I hope to meet him one day.

As Christians we ARE called to be a people of hope. “Our help is in the name of the Lord, who made heaven and earth.” That is where I put my trust.

Thanks for giving us some good news.

Leave a Reply

