Lunching Professionally

20 01 2010

So ….. as some of you know, I’m not working for the time being.  This decision was finalized and came late in the 2009 just before Christmas.  My last day at the investment bank where I worked for the past six and a half years was last Wednesday.

They gave me a several wonderful send-offs, and I was truly touched by everything that was done in honor of my departure.

So, what next?  It would be very tempting to revel in my new found freedom and go off and get into who-knows-what kind of trouble (I can hear SIR and Sista girl saying “as opposed to what you do now?”), but I have decided to be very intentional about the next few weeks.

For the next month or so, I’m doing some serious external and internal self-care.  You know, little things like making it a point to eat three meals a day … going to the gym 3-4 days a week … and there’s a beginner’s yoga class I’ve joined which lasts through the end of March.  I have quite a bit of dental work to get done (root canal … check.  multiple fillings .. check.  Cap and Crown … check ) though no oral surgery, Thanks be to God!  I’ve also rediscovered the wonderful thing of Morning Prayer at St. Mary the Virgin (affectionately known as Smokey Mary’s) in Times Square, which is a 10 minute walk from my house.

All of this will contribute to re-establishing healthy rhythms in my life which I’ve been missing quite a bit and have ultimately been a detriment to the things I really love doing and where my heart and my passions lie.

In mid-February I will spend a couple of weeks in Key West and then will start back to looking for a secular job in the beginning of March.

So, what’s going on with my Discernment Process?  Well, it’s still going on and will continue to go on for another five years or so.  In the meantime, with the Canon for Ministry’s blessing, I’m going to take one class a semester at one of the seminaries here in Manhattan, look into getting some Clinicial Pastroal Education in at a hospital, wrapping up my work on the diocesan LGBT Concerns Committee and starting a new venture at my own parish.  This plan was presented to our Canon for Ministry and she was quite supportive and said it was a great idea.

Lots of changes already in 2010, but all this is change for the better and new opportunities and challenges await!  In the meantime, I’m very happy to be part of the Professional Lunching crowd for the next few weeks.

What’s new with everyone else?

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 01 2010
Robert Thomas

Sounds exciting man. You will be in my prayers!

20 01 2010
the Reverend boy

Thanks, guy. Trust me I have learned that following Jesus is anything but boring!!

20 01 2010
Doorman-Priest

So, that holiday in Yorkshire, then……….?

21 01 2010
episcopalifem

Doors closing and windows opening, sounds like. So much possibility! I hate endings, but I looooove beginnings. Enjoy this time friend. You’ll be in my prayers, and I know you are listening for God in all you do.

Leave a Reply

