Happy Fourth! Happy Canada Day!

4 07 2010

Today is the Fourth of July, the day we in the United States celebrate our independece from the Monarchy of England. Earlier this week, Canada celebrated Canada Day on July 1.

Fr Don made a great reference in his sermon today talking about how in the US, we celebrate our individualism, our independence. Canada on the other hand, celebrates its dependency on community, on sticking together.

Two great countries, two great partners, two great philosophies.

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 07 2010
Richard

I heard that Dietrich Bonhoeffer said that we have to let go of attaining our idealized version of community and focus more on the people in our community. Our idealized version of community often leads us coming up short and disappointed, but recognizing our community with one another as children of God is an important part of our Christian call. This spoke volumes to me when I consider my work environment.

7 07 2010
Doorman-Priest

Two great countries? But I read references to three.

24 08 2011
get back ex boyfriend

I do not even know how I finished up right here, but I believed this put up was great. I don’t know who you might be but certainly you are going to a well-known blogger for those who aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

12 09 2011
stock trading game for kids

I’m happy that I found this write-up. It fills in several of the blanks that I had in my thoughts prior to reading it!

Leave a Reply

